When I first moved to NYC, I was in the middle of hand-quilting a queen size double wedding ring quilt. tI sat around waiting for years until one day I decided that the only way I was going to get it done was to go back to quilting while I commuted. I made this shoulder satchel large enough for that queen size quilt with a pocket for my hand quilting tools. Then I packed in a 14″ lap hoop, the quilt, needles, thread, thimble and small scissors, and took off. I quilted on the subway, at tango parties, in cars, everywhere I could grab a few minutes. I finished that whole quilt in 8 months, and as a side benefit, it started a lot of interesting conversations! I even met a quilter from South Africa on the subway who invited me to come and teach in Johannesburg!

Happy quilting!  ~ RaNae

