Hey Quilting Friends!

fmm30_frontcover-1After 22 years of living in NYC without a car, I’ve bought a minivan so I can visit quilt shops and quilt shows. That is how excited I am about Free-Motion Mastery in a Month — I want to share it with you in person and watch you catch the vision of how easy it is to learn to do machine quilting.

My first road trip starts in just a week and a half — July 10-12, 2017. I’m driving from NYC to the National Quilt Museum in Paducah, Kentucky. (Isn’t that appropriate?!) More details about that below.

Are you traveling this summer as well? Over next few posts I’ll share my favorite tips for quilting on the go. 

Tip #1 – Piece from your Purse

My first quilt was king-size(!) and I actually did all of the piecing while riding back and forth to work on the bus every day. I simply put the pieces of one block in a zip-top bag along with needle, thread, needle-threader, thimble and a small pair of scissors. I SO enjoyed quilting for those 40 minutes each morning and night that I looked forward to the ride! (You might also want to add a small ruler and a removable marking pen/pencil for marking seam lines.)

Now, back to details about the road trip…….

If you own a shop or have a favorite shop along the way (click here for a map) please email me at ranae@ranaemerrillquilts.com, respond to this email, or click on the “Email” button above. As I set up stops along the way, I’ll post the stores and times here, so check back to see your favorite store added to the list!

I’ll be looking for places to stay overnight along the way for the nights of July 10 and 11, so if you have a guest room, or can recommend a beautiful camp ground or a charming B&B along the way, let me know!

And remember, I’m teaching a 3-day Magnificent Spiral Mandalas workshop at the Museum on July 13-15. Come take the workshop while I’m there.

See you on the road!

Happy quilting!  ~ RaNae


Want to share this in your newsletter or blog?  Please do! Just credit me, RaNae Merrill, as the author and include my blog ddress http://www.ranaemerrillquilts.wordpress.com.
Thank you!

