imag9125.jpg

If you’re using a two-sided fabric for binding, when you join the strips it can be easy to mix up which is the front of the strip and which is the back.  Sometimes I would end up with a seam allowance on the front of the strip instead of the back.  ARGGHHH!!!  It’s frustrating to have to go back and re-sew the seam in the other direction.  (Two-sided fabrics are through-dyed rather than printed, so both sides look the same. Solid colors and batiks are the most common.)

So, here’s how I now avoid that problem: I press my binding strips
BEFORE I join them.  That way, the direction of the fold tells me which is the outside of the strip.

I begin with 2-1/2″ strips of fabric and press them lengthwise down the middle.

Lay the first strip face up on the tabletop – the fold is facing up (like a mountain):

imag9127.jpg

Lay the second strip face down on top of the first one at a right angle, with the fold facing down (like a valley).  Notice that I let each strip extend about 1/4″ beyond the edge of the other strip.  This helps guide my joining seam.

imag9125.jpg

Stitch from the “V” where the strips meet at the top left hand corner to the “V” where the strips meet at the bottom right hand corner.  (I’ve added a line so you can see the stitching line clearly.)

Binding

(In case you’re new to binding techniques, here’s why you sew a diagonal seam: When you fold the binding strip in half, and then fold it in half again over the edge of your quilt the diagonal seam distributes the bulk.  If you sewed a straight seam, each fold would pile the seam upon itself and the bulk would make a lump in your binding.)

Trim away the excess fabric, leaving a 1/4″ seam allowance.  If you cut in the shape shown in the picture, you’ll get rid of those pesky “ears” at the same time you trim the seam allowance.

imag9133.jpg

For a PDF of my step-by-step illustrated instructions for binding, go to https://spiromaniacs.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/binding-a-quilt.pdf

See my next few blog posts for more binding tips and tricks.

Happy quilting! ~ RaNae 🙂

