carrot cakeI took a break from my mad quilting frenzy (have made 7 quilt tops in the past 3 weeks) to make carrot cake for my choir director’s birthday last Sunday.

Both cake and frosting got RAVE reviews.  I love that the frosting has almost no sweetening in it — plenty of opportunity to taste the cream cheese.  The cake replaces most of the oil with applesauce.  It turns out really moist and delicious.

Here are the recipes:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/8319/brown-sugar-cream-cheese-frosting/
I replaced the almond extract with lemon juice.  Double the recipe for a 9″ x 13″ cake.

Here’s the cake recipe (I didn’t use the frosting recipe, obviously):
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/237104/carrot-cake-with-pineapple-cream-cheese-frosting/

I didn’t put nuts in the cake (in case of nut allergies) but did sprinkle them on top of the frosting.  Oh, and 2-1/2 cups of shredded carrots are exactly one pound.

Enjoy!

RaNae 🙂

(P.S.  I’ll post photos of some of those quilt tops soon . . . . .)

 

