wpid-imag7197.jpg

It has been snowing horizontally outside all day – perfect time to get that quilt off the design wall and onto the table to be sandwiched.

Over the weekend I discovered a secret weapon for removing the foundation paper from the back: nieces! The three of them and I each took a side, curled up on the couch with a movie and picked. We had the back clean in record time. Thanks girls!

For batting I’m using a layer of cotton/poly for stability and a layer of wool for loft.  I had hoped to use a black batting to avoid the possibility of white fibers bearding through but after an extensive search I discovered it just doesn’t exist.  So, it’s Dream Wool from Quilters Dream batting.  The gal I spoke with at the company referred me to this article on their blog about avoiding bearding and pokies:

http://quiltersdreambatting.blogspot.com/2012/04/bearding-and-pokies-bane-of-quilting.html

In a nutshell, they say that these problems are caused by static electricity, and that spraying all the layers with Static Guard will prevent them.  So I’m trying it.  I’ll let you know how that works out.

I ordered a couple more spools of Kimono Silk thread from Superior Threads.  http://www.superiorthreads.com/shop/category/thread/?brand=Kimono+Silk  This is my favorite thread for fine quilting – at 100 weight, it glides through the machine and nestles beautifully into the surface of the quilt.  The silk reflects just enough light to make it sort of glow, but it also will pick up the fabric color around it and blend in if that is what you want.  I decided to go with #364, Mississippi Mud for the grid work in the corners.  Just as I expected, the soft brown reads as a dull gold, and the dark medium value is just enough to show off the lines without being too strong.

I can’t wait to start stitching.  After 5+ years it’s about time!

